Skip to main content

Northwestern Buffett Institute for Global Affairs

Announcing the inaugural cohort of the new Buffett Faculty Fellows Program


The Northwestern Roberta Buffett Institute for Global Affairs recently expanded upon its Buffett Faculty Fellows Program, which brings world-class faculty to Northwestern through joint appointments in the Northwestern Buffett Institute and one of Northwestern's schools, to offer internal fellowships to Northwestern faculty. The new program aims to foster a robustly interdisciplinary intellectual community within the Northwestern Buffett Institute and the university writ large focused on the mutually enriching exchange of ideas, expertise and experience in service of individual and collaborative scholarship. 

The program will facilitate opportunities for such exchange through regular dinners, weekly lunch meetings and other events in addition to mentorship meetings between senior and junior faculty. To enable full participation in program activities, each Buffett Faculty Fellow will receive one course buyout, a stipend and a research fund for the duration of the fellowship's one-year term, with the option to renew their fellowship for up to three years. Buffett Faculty Fellows may also provide advisory support to the Northwestern Buffett Institute in the evaluation of the Buffett Faculty Fellows Program and development of other research and curricular activities.  

Northwestern Buffett will welcome the inaugural cohort of the new Buffett Faculty Fellows program in Fall 2023. Fellows were drawn from a wide variety of schools and departments, with attention given to diversity along a number of dimensions, including career stage, discipline, methodology in research or creative production and global issue areas of focus. The 2023–24 cohort of Buffett Faculty Fellows includes 11 faculty members from seven Northwestern schools: Laura Brueck, Nitasha Tamar Sharma and Kimberly R. Marion Suiseeya of the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences; Nicholas Diakopoulos and Ozge Samanci of the School of Communication; Elizabeth Gerber and G. Jeffrey Snyder of the McCormick School of Engineering; Michael S. Kang of the Pritzker School of Law; Anto Mohsin of Northwestern University in Qatar; Hatim A. Rahman of the Kellogg School of Management and Faith Summersett Williams of the Feinberg School of Medicine. Learn more about the inaugural cohort of the new Buffett Faculty Fellows Program >>