Buffett Award for Emerging Global Leaders

The annual $10,000 Buffett Award recognizes outstanding leadership in a person early in their career working in the areas of global health, social or economic development, human rights, climate change, food security, or other issues of global significance. By recognizing excellence early in someone’s career, the Buffett Award helps to encourage individuals to continue to make a difference.

The Emerging Global Leader is invited to Northwestern to give a public address to the Northwestern community and receive their award.


Voting takes place in the fall quarter. Undergraduate affiliates are invited to vote. Not yet an affiliate? Complete the brief application

Questions about the Buffett Award can be sent to Emory.ErkerLynch@northwestern.edu.

2017 Buffett Award winner: Regina Agyare Honu

Regina Honu, 2017 Buffett Award winnerCongratulations to Regina Agyare Honu, the winner of the 2017 Buffett Award. Honu is the founder and CEO of Soronko Solutions, a software development company and social enterprise startup based in Accra, Ghana.

She is also the founder of Soronko Foundation, the company’s nonprofit arm, which runs several development programs in West Africa that teach youth how to code and use technology to solve social issues. Read a Q&A with Honu to learn more about her.

Honu visited Northwestern on April 18 to give a public lecture and meet with student groups.