Skip to main content

Northwestern Buffett Institute for Global Affairs

Antibiotic Resistance

The goal of the Antibiotic Resistance Working Group is to better understand the rapid spread of antimicrobial resistance across the world and ultimately to stave off the high mortality and morbidity resulting from infections with resistant bacteria. develop basic infrastructure to evaluate antimicrobial resistance across two disparate healthcare systems in different parts of the world and to understand how healthcare providers make decisions around antibiotic prescribing.

About the Project


The Antibiotic Resistance Working Group aims to create a global collaboration to coordinate responses to antimicrobial resistance (AMR) across academic, political, pharmaceutical and medical institutions. This collaborative effort will enable 1) forecasting, detection and prevention of the emergence of AMR in communities, 2) rapid identification of AMR, supporting better clinical decisions about the use of antimicrobials or alternative and potentially novel approaches to treat patients, thereby preserving the long term efficacy of existing antibiotics, and 3) a better understanding of how people make decisions around antibiotic prescription and non-antibiotic interventions to treat infectious diseases. Through global efforts to prevent the spread of AMR, hundreds of thousands of lives will be saved.


Group Members

Mehreen Arshad (Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine)*

Katie Amato (Anthropology, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences)

Jim Davis (Argonne Lab)

Charlesnika Evans (Preventive Medicine, Northwestern Memorial Hospital)

Erica Hartmann (Civil and Environmental Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering)*

Faisal Mahmood (Adult Infectious Disease, Aga Khan University, Pakistan)

Leena Mithal (Feinberg School of Medicine)

Larry K. Kociolek (Feinberg School of Medicine)

Egon Ozer (Feinberg School of Medicine)

Sameer J. Patel (Feinberg School of Medicine)

Noelle Samia (Statistics, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences)

Patrick Seed (Feinberg School of Medicine)


*indicates group leaders