Skip to main content

Northwestern Buffett Institute for Global Affairs

Faculty Advisory Council

About the Committee

The Faculty Advisory Council serves as the key mechanism for representing faculty in Buffett decisions and activities. Members serve as strategic thought partners for Buffett leadership and ambassadors for Buffett's strategic goals. They will leverage their expertise and existing global research relationships to help build Northwestern's global network and transform Northwestern into a more global institution. This group has a key role in making recommendations to the executive director concerning funding priorities, programs, policies and appointments at Buffett.


Adam Goodman

Director, Center for Leadership
Clinical Professor of Undergraduate Engineering, McCormick School of Engineering

Sossina Haile

Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
McCormick School of Engineering

Laura Hein

Professor, Department of History, Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences
Faculty Senate

Mark Huffman

Quentin D. Young Professor of Health Policy; Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine and Medicine-Cardiology
Feinberg School of Medicine

Ofer Malamud

Associate Professor, Human Development and Social Policy
School of Education and Social Policy 

Wendy Pearlman

Associate Professor of Political Science
Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences

Rachel Riedl

Associate Professor of Political Science; Director, Program of African Studies
Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences

JP Sniadecki

Assistant Professor of Radio/Television/Film
School of Communication

Juliet Sorensen

Clinical Professor of Law; Associate Dean for Clinical Education
Director, Bluhm Legal Clinic
Pritzker School of Law

Vijay Viswanathan

Associate Dean, IMC and Associate Professor
Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications

Klaus Weber

Professor of Management & Organizations
Kellogg School of Management

Zachary Wright

Associate Professor in Residence, Liberal Arts
Northwestern University in Qatar